Compiled By Paul Montella
October 31, 2013

AP Sportlight

1913 — Notre Dame meets Army for the first time and comes away with a 35-13 win behind Gus Dorias’ 14-of-17 passing for 243 yards.

1938 — Before a crowd of 40,000 spectators, Seabiscuit, under jockey George Woolf, beat odds-on favorite War Admiral in the Pimlico Special, a winner-take-all match race with a purse of $15,000.

1959 — Jim Brown of the Cleveland Browns scores five touchdowns in a 38-31 victory over the Baltimore Colts.

1959 — Montreal goaltender Jacques Plante revolutionizes his position — and the sport of hockey — by donning a facemask. Plante is struck in the face with a shot by New York Rangers forward Andy Bathgate at 3:06 of the first period. After receiving stitches to close a gash from the corner of his mouth all the way up through his nostril, Plante returns to the ice wearing a mask. The Canadiens win 3-1.

1964 — Cleveland’s Jim Brown rushes for 149 yards and becomes the first player to rush for more than 10,000 yards in a career as the Browns post a 30-17 victory over the Pittsburgh Steelers. Brown with 10,135 yards had 47 games of 100-or-more yards rushing.

1964 — Kansas City’s Len Dawson passes for 435 yards and six touchdowns to lead the Chiefs to a 49-39 triumph over the Denver Broncos.

1966 — The NFL awards a franchise to New Orleans on All Saints Day.

1970 — Mercury Morris of the Miami Dolphins gains 302 combined yards (89 rushing, 68 receiving and 145 on kickoff returns) in a 35-0 loss to the Baltimore Colts.

1987 — Ibrahin Hussein of Kenya and Priscilla Welch of Britain win the men’s and women’s divisions of the New York Marathon, finishing the 26.2 miles in 2:11:01 and 2:30:17, respectively.

1997 — Tom Osborne reaches 250 wins faster than any coach in college football history as Nebraska beats Oklahoma 69-7, the worst loss in Sooners’ history.

1998 — John Kagwe runs away from Kenyan countryman Joseph Chebet in the final yards and wins the New York City Marathon for the second straight year in the second-closest finish in the race’s 29-year history. Kagwe’s winning time is 2 hours, 8 minutes, 45 seconds.

2000 — Pat Riley earns his 1,000th career coaching victory as Miami posts its most lopsided win in an opener with a 105-79 rout of Orlando. Riley reaches the plateau in 1,434 games — fewer than any coach or manager in any sport.

2003 — Larry Fitzgerald sets an NCAA record with a touchdown catch in his 14th straight game in Pittsburgh’s 24-13 victory over Boston College.

2006 — Evgeni Malkin scores in the first period of Pittsburgh’s 4-3 overtime win at Los Angeles to become the first NHL player in 89 years with goals in his first six games.

2008 — Texas Tech receiver Michael Crabtree catches the winning 28-yard touchdown pass with 1 second to play, as the seventh-ranked Red Raiders beat No. 1 Texas 39-33.

2008 — Michigan’s 48-42 loss at Purdue drops the Wolverines to 2-7, ending Michigan’s string of 33 straight bowl appearances. Michigan, assured of its first losing season since 1967, also sets a school record for losses.

2008 — Larry Brown earns his first victory in his ninth NBA head coaching job, and the 1,011th of his career as Charlotte beats Miami 100-87.

2009 — Ted Ginn Jr. returns two kickoffs, 100 and 101 yards, for touchdowns in Miami’s 30-25 win over the New York Jets. Ginn, the first to have two touchdowns of 100 yards in the same game, also becomes the first player to return two kickoffs for touchdowns in the same quarter since Green Bay’s Travis Williams in 1967.

2009 — Meb Keflezighi, becomes the first U.S. man in 27 years to win the New York City Marathon. Keflezighi, who moved from his native Eritrea to San Diego when he was in the sixth grade, finishes with a time of 2:09:15 for a personal best. Ethiopian runner Derartu Tulu wins the women’s marathon title in 2:28:52.

2010 — The San Francisco Giants beat the Texas Rangers 3-1 in a tense Game 5 to bring a World Series title to the city by the Bay for the first time. Tim Lincecum outduels Cliff Lee in a matchup that was scoreless until Edgar Renteria earns the Series MVP award by hitting a stunning three-run homer with two outs in the seventh inning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>