October 9, 2013

Nobel Prizes Awarded


Shelby: The Nobel Prize is one of the most prestigious awards in the world. And every year, the winners in six categories are announced in October. So who are this year’s big recipients? Keith Kocinski has the story.

Keith: Judges awarded this year’s Nobel Prize in physics Tuesday to two men for their discovery of the so-called God particle.

The Nobel academy named physicists Peter Higgs of Britain and Francois Englert of Belgium the winners.

Staffan Normark: For the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles.

Keith: The God particle is considered the glue that holds everything in our universe together, giving it mass. Without Higgs boson there would be no stars, no planets, no us. Physicists believe the particle helped form the universe after the Big Bang almost 14 billion years ago.

On Monday, three Americans won the Nobel Prize in medicine. James Rothman of Yale, Randy Schekman of the University of California, and Thomas Südhof of Stanford were recognized for discovering how cells transport hormones, such as insulin, delivering them to the right place at the right time. Their work could lead to new medicines for diabetes and epilepsy.

Every year since 1901, the Nobel Prize is given to influential people to recognize advances in things like culture and science. It is considered one of the most prestigious honors in the world.

There is more to come. Nobel Prizes will be awarded every day this week. The Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday and is regarded as the most important award by many, honoring individuals for building peace around the globe.

Keith Kocinski, Channel One News.

Shelby: And, of course, we will keep you updated on that big peace prize winner when it is announced.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>